Publish Your Screen

Publish your designed Screen.

Publish Your Screen

A Screen can be saved in Design mode.

Permissions Required

Your user account or group membership must have the following permissions to publish a Screen unless your user account has the Make this user a Super Admin setting selected:

  • Screens: Edit Screens

  • Screens: View Screens

See the Screens permissions or ask your Administrator for assistance.

A Screen can be published in two ways depending if the Versioning package is installed. See the following sections regarding how a Screen may be published:

Publish a Single Version of a Screen

Click the Publish button from Screen Builder's top menu to save the Screen.‌ When the Versioning package is not installed, this action overwrites the previous publication of this Screen without maintaining a record of its previous publication(s). To publish distinct versions of a Screen, the Versioning package must be installed.

Publish Distinct Versions of a Screen

Package Required

The Versioning package must be installed to publish distinct versions of a Screen.

When the Versioning package is installed, distinct versions of a Screen can be published. A version is a set of changes published for a Screen since the last publication. Versioning maintains a record of all named and unnamed publications to that Screen. Any of these versions may be viewed or retrieved, if needed. See the Versioning package for more information.

Follow these guidelines to publish a new distinct version of your Screen:‌

  1. Click the Publish button from Screen Builder's top menu.‌

  2. Do one of the following:

    • Publish an unnamed version:

      Follow these steps to publish an unnamed version:

      1. Click Save to publish an unnamed version. Otherwise, click Cancel to return to Screen Builder without publishing. As a best practice, name each published version to provide auditing and documentation to what has changed in each publication. Otherwise, Process Designers that manage versions of this Screen do not view unnamed versions when the Only show named versions toggle key is enabled while viewing that Screen's version history.

    • Save a named version:

      Follow these steps to publish a named version:

      1. In the Version Name setting, enter a name for this version. The version name displays when viewing the version history of that Screen and helps identify this version. Although this setting is not required, as a best practice name each version for easier maintenance, documentation, and auditing purposes. Name the version that describes changes in this Screen.

      2. In the Additional Details (optional) setting, optionally enter details of the changes made in this version. The additional details display when viewing the version history of that Screen and helps other Process Designers or Administrators understand the changes made in that version. Enter details which concisely summarize the changes made in this version.

      3. Click Save to save this version. Otherwise, click Cancel to return to the Screen Builder without publishing.

Last updated

© Copyright 2000-2024 ProcessMaker Inc. All rights reserved.