--- title: "Project Ownership and Members" slug: "invite-or-remove-members-in-a-project" updated: 2025-05-06T15:46:50Z published: 2025-05-06T15:46:50Z canonical: "docs.processmaker.com/invite-or-remove-members-in-a-project" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.processmaker.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Project Ownership and Members When a project is created, the creator is automatically assigned as the Project Owner. The Project Owner or a Super Admin can easily transfer ownership to another user ensuring flexibility when roles or responsibilities change within an organization. Once ownership is transferred, the former owner becomes a regular member and retains the ability to contribute to the project but no longer has administrative privileges. > [!WARNING] > - Only Super Admins and the Project Owners can transfer project ownership. > - Only one user can be the project owner at a time, but ownership can be transferred to another member. > - In the event that the project owner leaves, a Super Admin can transfer ownership to another project member. > - Only Project Owners have the authority to modify project configurations. [Embedded content](https://demos.processmaker.com/embed/cm3oehraa07taahfjgoj9oyjp?embed_v=2) ## Change Project Ownership Follow these steps to change the owner of a project: **Permissions** Your user account or group membership must have the "Projects: View Projects" permission to transfer project ownership unless your user account has the **Make this user a Super Admin** setting selected. This permission is enabled by default for all user accounts. Note that you can only invite users to Projects in which you are a member or which [you created](/v1/docs/create-a-process). If you cannot do so, see the [Projects](/v1/docs/permission-descriptions-for-users-and-groups#projects) permissions or ask your Administrator for assistance. 1. View all projects, and click on a project name to open it. 2. In the **Project Details** → **Owner** section on the right, hover over the owner and then click the ![](https://cdn.document360.io/2d311614-fcb7-4424-8b4c-d4d3091eebeb/Images/Documentation/Gear.png) icon. If this setting is not visible, you are not the designated Project Owner. Only Project Owners can assign a new owner. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/2d311614-fcb7-4424-8b4c-d4d3091eebeb/Images/Documentation/Project Details.png) 3. From the **Change Project Owner** window, select the new owner. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/2d311614-fcb7-4424-8b4c-d4d3091eebeb/Images/Documentation/Change Project Owner.png) 4. Click **Confirm**. After confirming, the selected member becomes the new project owner, inheriting all related responsibilities and permissions. ## Invite New Members to a Project **Permissions** Your user account or group membership must have the "Projects: View Projects" permission to invite new members to a Project unless your user account has the **Make this user a Super Admin** setting selected. This permission is enabled by default for all user accounts. Note that you can only invite users to Projects in which you are a member or which [you created](/v1/docs/create-a-process). If you cannot do so, see the [Projects](/v1/docs/permission-descriptions-for-users-and-groups#projects) permissions or ask your Administrator for assistance. > [!WARNING] > Only the Project Owner can invite new members to a project. This maintains security by preventing unauthorized individuals from joining without the owner’s approval. Follow these steps to invite new members to a Project: 1. View all projects, and click on a project name to open it. 2. In the **Project Details** → **Members** setting on the right, select which user(s) or groups to invite to this Project. When inviting a group, all members of that group are invited to that Project. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/2d311614-fcb7-4424-8b4c-d4d3091eebeb/Images/Documentation/Add a new member in a Project.png) 3. The user is added to the project, and a [notification](/v1/docs/notifications) sent. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/2d311614-fcb7-4424-8b4c-d4d3091eebeb/Images/Documentation/Project Member Added.png) ## Remove Members from a Project Project owners can remove users from a project. A user in the following circumstances can no longer view any assets when removed from a Project: - The Project from which that user was removed was the only Project that user was a member. Likewise, this user is not a group member that is a Project member. To address this, that user must be added to at least one Project to view its assets. - That user does not have user or group permissions to work with individual types of assets. To address this, that user must be [assigned user and/or group permissions](/v1/docs/permission-descriptions-for-users-and-groups#user-and-group-permissions-are-cumulative) for individual asset types or all permissions. **Permissions** Your user account or group membership must have the "Projects: View Projects" permission to remove members from a Project unless your user account has the **Make this user a Super Admin** setting selected. This permission is enabled by default for all user accounts. Note that you can only invite users to Projects in which you are a member or which [you created](/v1/docs/create-a-process). If you cannot do so, see the [Projects](/v1/docs/permission-descriptions-for-users-and-groups#projects) permissions or ask your Administrator for assistance. > [!WARNING] > Only the Project owner can remove members from a project to control access to the project and maintains security by preventing unauthorized individuals from joining without the owner’s approval. Follow these steps to remove a member from a Project: 1. View all projects, and click on a project name to open it. 2. In the **Project Details** → **Members** setting on the right, hover over the user to be removed. 3. Click the Remove icon ![](https://cdn.document360.io/2d311614-fcb7-4424-8b4c-d4d3091eebeb/Images/Documentation/14221ad2-b961-4d1f-a992-bc813d91083f.png). ![](https://cdn.document360.io/2d311614-fcb7-4424-8b4c-d4d3091eebeb/Images/Documentation/e842f289-12d3-40fd-9cd6-6f21648b91e0.png) A message displays to confirm removal of this Project member. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/2d311614-fcb7-4424-8b4c-d4d3091eebeb/Images/Documentation/049a5135-4797-4e4d-9993-ba369b79e622.png) 4. Click **Confirm**.